DeZiS - Democratic cohesion in Saxony



The project DeZiS researches interdisciplinarily the democratic quality of the political culture as well as the social cohesion in Saxony.

DeZiS contributes to better understand the profound and lasting challenges on the field of social integration of refugees and other migrant groups, to oppose disintegrative developments such as xenophobia and right-wing extremism, and to develop innovative strategies to foster the democratic cohesion and social integration. DeZiS includes the following partial projects:

a) Editing “Handbuch Integration”: the manual “Handbuch Integration” presents about 60 contributions to the subject of political and social integration and will be published by Springer VS in 2019 (online first). The handbook is conceived and edited by the members of IFRiS Gert Pickel, Oliver Decker, Steffen Kailitz, Antje Röder and Julia Schulze Wessel.

b) Group discussions with Syrian refugees: Based on the first IFRiS project “Flight and Integration (FLIN)” with 61 refugees interviewed in a pre-test survey in Chemnitz, Leipzig and Dresden in 2016/17, two group discussions of 120 minutes each are led with Syrian refugees. The goal of the partial project is to enlarge the knowledge about refugees. Processes of identification and dissociation in the country of origin as well as in the refuge society, democratic structures and individual liberties in private or societal areas as well experiences of discrimination are the group discussions’ core subjects. The partial project is directed by Frank Asbrock (TU Chemnitz) and Julia Schulze Wessel (Leipzig University).

c) “Rechtsextremismus und Rechtspopulismus in Sachsen” [Right-wing extremism and right-wing populism in Saxony]: The brochure (60 pages) analyses political attitudes (Sachsen-Monitor, “Mitte-Studien”), right-wing extremist and right-wing populist parties, right-wing extremist and xenophobic violence as well as the role of the Pegida movement. The brochure is published by Sächsische Landeszentrale für politische Bildung (SLpB) [Saxonian State Agency for Civic Education] in early 2019. It is written by Uwe Backes, Steffen Kailitz (HAIT), Gert Pickel (Leipzig university) and Piotr Kocyba (TU Chemnitz).

d) Labour market integration and social cohesion: In collaboration with the “Zentrum für Integrationsstudien (ZfI)” at TU Dresden will be researched how far structures and processes of decision making, participation and cooperation in Saxonian companies change in existing teams when refugees are employed. The explorative study emphasizes companies that employ interns, trainees and employees with refugee or unsolved status. Using interviews with focus on the vocational biography and ethnographic methods of everyday observation, a first analysis of collaboration and participation processes will be implemented. The partial project is directed by Heike Greschke (ZfI).

e) Editing anthology “Sachsen zwischen Integration und Desintegration” [Saxony between integration and disintegration]: The results of DeZiS lead into the common, final publication of the book “Politisch-kulturelle Heimaten. Demokratischer Zusammenhalt in Sachsen und Deutschland” (about 200 pages). It contains about 12 articles to subjects of migration and integration, political culture and social cohesion. Mainly members of the IFRiS network, but also other authors contribute to this book. Editors: Steffen Kailitz (HAIT), Frank Asbrock (TU Chemnitz), Oliver Decker, Gert Pickel, Julia Schulze Wessel (Leipzig University) and Antje Röder (Marburg University).

Person responsible: PD Dr. Steffen Kailitz, HAIT, Dresden.
Period of support: September 2017 to August 2018.

DeZiS - Demokratischer Zusammenhalt in Sachsen



Im Projekt DeZiS wird sowohl die demokratische Qualität der politischen Kultur als auch der gesellschaftliche Zusammenhalt in Sachsen interdisziplinär erforscht. DeZiS leistet einen Beitrag, die tiefgreifenden und nachhaltigen Herausforderungen auf dem Gebiet der gesellschaftlichen Integration von Geflüchteten und anderen Migrantengruppen besser zu verstehen, desintegrativen Entwicklungen wie Fremdenfeindlichkeit und Rechtsextremismus entgegenzuwirken und innovative Strategien zur Förderung von demokratischem Zusammenhalt und gesellschaftlicher Integration zu entwickeln.

DeZiS umfasst folgende Teilprojekte:

a) Herausgabe „Handbuch Integration“: Mit dem Handbuch Integration wird ein Grundlagenwerk mit ca. 60 Aufsätzen zum Themenbereich politische und gesellschaftliche Integration und sozialer Zusammenhalt vorgelegt, das 2019 im Verlag Springer VS erscheint (online first). Es wird gemeinschaftlich von den IFRiS-Mitgliedern Gert Pickel, Oliver Decker, Steffen Kailitz, Antje Röder und Julia Schulze Wessel konzipiert, betreut und herausgegeben.

b) Gruppendiskussionen mit syrischen Geflüchteten: Aufbauend auf dem ersten IFRiS-Projekt Flucht und Integration (FLIN) mit einer Pretest-Befragung von 61 Geflüchteten werden zwei Gruppendiskussion von je 120 Minuten mit syrischen Geflüchteten durchgeführt. Ziel des Teilprojekts ist es, die Kenntnisse über Geflüchtete zu erweitern. Zentrale Themenfelder der Gruppendiskussionen sind Identitätsbildungs- und Abgrenzungsprozesse in der Herkunfts- und Ankunftsgesellschaft, demokratische Strukturen und individuelle Freiheiten im privaten/familiären und gesellschaftlichen Bereich sowie Diskriminierungserfahrungen. Das Teilprojekt wird unter der Leitung von Frank Asbrock (TU Chemnitz) und Julia Schulze Wessel (Universität Leipzig) umgesetzt.

c) „Rechtsextremismus und Rechtspopulismus in Sachsen“: Die ca. 60-seitige Broschüre analysiert politische Einstellungen (Sachsen-Monitor, „Mitte-Studien“), rechtsextremistische und rechtspopulistische Parteien, rechtsextreme und fremdenfeindliche Gewalt sowie die Rolle von Pegida. Die Broschüre wird von der Sächsischen Landeszentrale für politische Bildung (SLpB) herausgegeben und soll im Anfang 2019 erscheinen. An der Abfassung der Broschüre sind als gemeinschaftliche Autoren der Broschüre Uwe Backes, Steffen Kailitz (HAIT), Gert Pickel (Uni Leipzig) und Piotr Kocyba (TU Chemnitz) beteiligt.

d) Arbeitsmarktintegration und sozialer Zusammenhalt: In Kooperation mit dem Zentrum für Integrationsstudien (ZfI) an der TU Dresden wird untersucht, inwieweit sich Strukturen und Praktiken der Entscheidung, Beteiligung und Kooperation in sächsischen Unternehmen mit der Beschäftigung von Geflüchteten und der „Interkulturalisierung“ bestehender Teams verändern. Mithilfe berufsbiografischer Interviews und ethnografischer Methoden der Alltagsbegleitung werden erste Analysen zu Kooperations- und Beteiligungspraktiken durchgeführt. Leitung des Teilprojekts: Heike Greschke (ZfI der TU Dresden).

e) Herausgabe Sammelband „Sachsen zwischen Integration und Desintegration“: Die Arbeitsergebnisse von DeZiS münden in die abschließende Publikation des Buchs „Sachsen zwischen Integration und Desintegration. Politisch-kulturelle Heimaten“. Es versammelt ca. 12 Beiträge zu den Themen Migration und Integration, politische Kultur und gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt. Der Band wird durch einige wichtige Beiträge außerhalb des DeZiS-Projekts ergänzt. Herausgeber: Steffen Kailitz, Frank Asbrock, Oliver Decker, Gert Pickel, Antje Röder, Julia Schulze Wessel.

Projektverantwortlicher: PD Dr. Steffen Kailitz, HAIT, Dresden.
Förderzeitraum: September 2017 bis August 2018.